One-Pot Vegetarian Chile

Veg chileThis is a great recipe for those nights when you want a hardy meal, but don’t want to put in a lot of effort. I also found that it makes great leftovers for quick lunches or dinners later in the week!

My boyfriend, Chris sent me the recipe from Pinterest, but I was missing A LOT of the ingredients, so I made my own spin off. You can find the original recipe here: Vegetarian Quinoa Chili with Kale and Red Beans

Here’s my version of the recipe:

Ingredients:
1 T Olive Oil
1/3 a Large Onion (or one medium onion)
1 Bell Pepper
2 Cloves Garlic (minced)
2 t Ground Cumin
2 t Dried Oregano
1/4 t Ground Cinnamon
1/2 t Chile Powder
1 t salt
Pepper to taste
1 Cup Green Giant Cauliflower Crumbles (fresh or frozen)
1 Cup Canned Tomatoes
1 Cup Black Beans
2 Cups Baby Kale (chopped roughly) or 1 Small Bunch Kale (chopped roughly)

Method:
1. In a large sauce pan, heat oil over medium low heat.
2. Add the onion, bell pepper, garlic and spices and sauté until softened, about 5 minutes.
3. Stir in the water, quinoa, corn, and tomato sauce. Bring to a boil then reduce heat to low and simmer for 20 minutes.
4. Add the beans and kale and simmer for an additional 5 minutes, or until kale is softened.


veg chile 2.jpgI would recommend taking a look at the old recipe and comparing it to mine in order to assure that you make the best chile for you. I had to work with the ingredients I had, and had I had all of the ingredients, may have done things differently (although mine still came out great!) I had to add in more spices because of the water from the cauliflower, but I did this
roughly by tasting.

Experimenting is Key!
I topped my chile with some avocado slices and goat cheese (I am goat cheese obsessed!)

I calculated about 333 calories for a quarter of the pot of chile using my recipe.

Leave a Reply

